A Girl Named Darla

Just wanted to share my latest poem..

It’s based loosely on a young girl I know. Not really.

Enjoy!

.

I once knew a girl named Darla,

Who wished her name was Carla.

.

It made her truly, deeply mad –

And her inner fury turned her bad.

.

When she was aged just four,

She went and pooped on the kitchen floor.

.

And at the ripe old age of six,

She killed a puppy dog for kicks.

.

As soon as Darla turned eight,

She went out on her very first date.

.

Her boyfriend at the time was Ben.

He’d only just that day turned ten.

.

He took her to the local park.

And there they stayed out after dark.

.

They climbed atop the monkey bars,

And threw some rocks at passing cars.

.

“This is so much fun” she said,

As two cars crashed head to head.

.

Darla kissed Ben on the cheek,

As petrol fumes started to leak.

.

Then a mighty fire broke out,

And frenzied people ran about.

.

Sirens, cops and fire crews,

The crash so bad it made the News.

.

Darla took Ben by the hand,

“I hate my name” she said offhand.

.

As the park got filled with smoke,

She and Ben started to choke.

.

“I think it’s time to go” Ben said,

“I’d rather be inside my bed.”

.

Then he turned and walked on home,

But Darla stayed out all alone.

.

She sat and watched the cars burn bright,

She sat and watched them burn all night.

.

Darla sobbed and cried out shrilly,

“My God my name sounds so silly.”

.

Soon the sun did start to rise,

To mark the start of her demise…

.

By the time that she was nine,

Darla lived a life of crime.

.

She didn’t even go to school,

But young Darla was no fool.

.

In fact she made loads of cash,

Selling heroine and hash.

.

By the time that she turned ten,

She found herself a pimp called Ken.

.

And as her fame and fortune mounted,

She earned cash more than could be counted.

.

But despite all of her wealth and pay,

She cried each and every single day.

.

Deep down she still loathed her name,

She thought that it was really lame.

.

The years passed and Darla aged,

But still her inner fury still raged.

.

One day her pimp heard her cry,

He softly knocked and asked her why.

.

“Ken” she whispered in his ear,

“I have been sad for many a year!”

.

“It’s all because of what I’m called,

“My name! It makes me feel appalled!”

.

The pimp was greatly stupefied,

“I love your name!” he quickly lied.

.

“Well I don’t” Darla said,

“It makes me wish that I was dead.”

.

Ken just stood there at the door,

Staring straight down at the floor.

.

“I just do not know what I can do,

“If only you, Ken, had a clue.”

.

The pimp was silent for a sec,

“I have a secret to confess.”

.

“My predicament was once the same,

“I did not want my real name.”

.

Ken told her of one fateful night,

When two cars crashed and burned alight.

.

He changed his name from Ben to Ken,

When he was just the age of ten.

.

“I was scared of getting caught,

“I was young and so distraught.”

.

Darla was so shocked to hear,

Ben changed his name out of fear.

.

But more than that she was elated,

To find the boy that she once dated.

.

“Ben I can’t believe it’s true,

“I can’t believe that I’ve found you.”

.

Straight away she changed her name,

And since, she’s never been the same.

.

She and Ken ran away,

Moved out to a farm that day.

.

Soon her inner fury faded,

And she no longer feels so jaded.

.

But she and Ken still never say a single word about… that day.

Leave a Reply

