Overheard in the newsroom

I work in a busy newsroom in Australia and sometimes people say some pretty amusing things. Here is a list I have compiled. Enjoy!

***

“You listen to Abbott while in the shower? That’s really disturbing”

***

“The real question here is, would you trust Eddie Murphy?”

***

“Kerobokan prison? Yeah I was sent there once.”

***

During the opening ceremony for the Sochi Games:

“Did they get Pussy Riot to perform?”

 ***

“What rock are people under?”

 ***

At 4:30am:

“God almighty”

***

On Australia Day:

“I’m just gonna go get me some dumplings. Some good Aussie dumplings”

***

Discussing the merits of shark culls:

“I’m all for sharks unless they’re trying to eat me.”

 ***

“I don’t know about red heads wearing red on TV. What do you think?”

 ***

“I can’t remember how to do my job.”

 ***

On New Years Day:

“WE HAVE 12 HOURS OF FOOTAGE OF THE FIREWORKS! WE DON’T NEED ANY MORE!”

 ***

“Hang on one tick, I’m just googling the international quoits rules.”

***

“I’m serious! Peppa Pig gets more viewers than we do.”

***

“I wanted to start a truffle farm. But NO ONE believed me.”

 ***

“I didn’t have time for breakfast. And there was broccoli in the fridge. So….”

***

“Good morning! How’s your zombie movie going?”

***

“It would really suck to be racehorse… plus they get really crappy names.”

***

“A couple of cruise missiles never hurt anyone.”

 ***

“If you were a cheese, what type would you be?”

***

“It’s nice to get out. I should do it more often.”

 ***

“We’ve run out of camera crews. Shall we just send the chopper out?”

 ***

“I’m just trying to read the planning email, which always gives me indigestion.”

***

“I love a bit of teargas in the morning.”

***

“I’m disillusioned”

***

“You’ve just got to embrace your inner-mullet. You know, just let it do its thing.”

 ***

“So, we’re leading with golf then?”

 ***

“The trick is to spent all your money before your kids can get to it.”

Leave a Reply

